Rebels Online
About the Site
News Index
Search the Site
Slough Town FC
Away Fans Guide
Club History
Club Information
Kennedy Park News
Stag Meadow
Supporters Trust
Video Clips
Wexham Park
This Season
Fixtures & Results
Photos Index
Playing Squad
Past Players
Player Profiles
Fun & Games



The Poll

Should I ever fix this poll?


View Current Standings


Local Election 2006

Local Election Results
by Nathan on 05/05/2006

5 Slough Town Supporters Trust members stood for election during the 2006 local Council elections on 4th May. Read here to see how they did.

Local Election Results
Local Election Results
As you may know, 5 Slough Town Supporters Trust members stood at this year's local council elections in an attempt to send a message to the council regarding the club's fight for a stadium within the borough and to highlight the fact that Slough is the largest town in the UK without a senior football team playing within the Borough.

The results of this "protest stand" vary quite dramatically, but was overall a very good result, with over 700 votes being cast in favour of the STST candidates.

In Britwell, IBR candidate John Finn won the seat, with STST candidate Chris Sliski (up against Labour's Patrica O'Brien, Tory Timothy Williams and Slough Independent Paul Janik) winning the sum total of 33 votes.

James Swindlehurst (Labour) won the seat for Cippenham Green, but STST candidate Dominic Ashford bought himself no shame by winning 122 votes, beating Slough Independant Sukhdev Sohal's 19 votes to finish 4th.

Brian Hewitt held his seat for the Haymill ward, with STST candidate Marcus Kirby picking up a respectable 99 votes.

Conservative Derek Cryer won Langley St. Mary's, beating Labour's Thomas Kelly by a mere 7 votes with STST's Ted Jones gaining 121 votes.

Out of the five, the beat result undoubtedly has to be Martin Blake's total of 354 votes in Wexham Lea. This amazingly managed to beat Conservatives Mary Collins total of 259 votes.

The small fact that none of the above five won any seats matters little, as this was purely a protest, non-political stand with the intention of campaigning for more sporting facilities in Slough and highlighting the club's plight and search for a home within the borough.

The campaign has bought the club a lot of attention from the local press and has drummed up some interest from the local councillors. It can only be seen as a success as Cllr Brian Hewitt has reportedly called a meeting with the supporters Trust - exactly the type of response the Trust wanted.

The results are shown below (only wards with an STST Independant Candidate standing are shown):

Candidate Party Votes
John Finn Independent Britwellian Residents 672
Patricia O'Brien Labour 372
Paul Janik Slough Independents 363
Timothy Williams Conservatives 176
Chris Sliski Independant 33
Votes: 1623 Turnout: 29.55% Invalid Votes: 6

Cippenham Green
Candidate Party Votes
James Swindlehurst Labour 1089
Diana Dale-Gough Conservatives 781
Nadeem Rana Liberal Democrats 217
Dominic Ashford Independant 122
Sukhdev Sohal Slough Independents 19
Votes: 2236 Turnout: 39.02% Invalid Votes: 6

Candidate Party Votes
Brian Hewitt Liberals 755
Peter Dale-Gough Conservatives 534
Patricia O'Conner Labour 489
Marcus Kirby Independent 99
Votes: 1887 Turnout: 29.74% Invalid Votes: 9

Langley St. Mary's
Candidate Party Votes
Derek Cryer Conservatives 742
Thomas Kelly Labour 735
Liam Meehan Independent Langley Residents 423
Ted Jones Independent 121
Votes: 2025 Turnout: 38.46% Invalid Votes: 4

Wexham Lea
Candidate Party Votes
Mohammed Khan Independent 954
Joan Jones Labour 716
Martin Blake Independent 354
Mary Collins Conservative 259
Votes: 2291 Turnout: 37.22% Invalid Votes: 12

Talk about this on the Fan's Forum

RebelsOnline is an independent website and the views expressed are not necessarily those of
Slough Town Football Club

All photographs, images, text and other content are copyright 2003-2006 RebelsOnline
and must not be reproduced in whole or in part without prior permission.